Knox Church Crystal Falls Quebec Canada

The Illumination



The new exterior lighting of the church was turned on on September 26, 2002.

For those of us who travel one of the most scenic and picturesque Provincial highways in Quebec, this historic church has served as a beacon of welcome and homecoming on the northern limit of the Township of Arundel. Constructed in 1908 by the early settlers of Crystal Falls, this church remains an inspiration to all who pass by.

On September 26th. 2002 a ceremony was held to turn on the new floodlights to illuminate the church. The ceremony was attended by over 100 people. Piper Jim Ross of Arundel welcomed the gathering with a medley of bagpipe tunes. Christopher Goodfellow gave a short address followed by the Mayor of Arundel. Vera Evans sang "Amazing Grace" to the celebrants and Rowena Blair read a poem in tribute to Edmund Bennett. The grandson of the builder, Malcolm Bennett also gave a short address after which Jim Ross led the gathering down the hill to view the lights being turned on by Malcolm Bennett.

It was a lovely evening and the lights came on after a countdown! This was followed by a re-grouping up by the newly illuminated church and the singing of "All things Bright and Beautiful" and a blessing by Canon Baugh.

The lights come on at sunset and are turned off automatically at dawn.

‘May the light of hope and peace never be
extinguished and may God Bless our fair land Canada’

 Annual Photo - Knox Church Memorial Fund, 339 Crystal Falls Road, Arundel, Quebec J0T 1A0

2002 Group Photo
September 1, 2002



Return to Welcome Page of Knox Church
Tweedsmuir History Village of Arundel
Arundel Municipal Page

To send a message to us click here: knoxchurch@laurentian.com

We are listed at Canadian Culture!

These pages © by @laurentian.com 2005

last update March 27, 2005